Erotica Writer INTERVIEW: Liia Ann White

Bio: http://www.liiaannwhite.com/bio/

 

Nymph Du Pave: What inspired you to write?

Liia Ann: I’ve been writing on and off since I was about 12. I have nightmares and strange dreams every night, whic
h give me all sorts of different ideas to write, it just seems to come naturally to me.

NDP: What are your current projects?

LA: I’m currently concentrating on my Young Adult Urban Fantasy story, which I’ve been doing for quite some time. Then every now and then I pick up the sequel to my debut UF novel, Elora’s Match.

 

NDP: Do you see writing as a career?

LA: Definitely. Not only that, it’s my dream career and I’m determined to make it work.

 

NDP: Do you have a message or theme you want to get across?  Is that something that is in all of your work, or just a particular line?

LA: I like to write what I know, so I make sure at least one of my main characters are Australian. I also get across a message of tolerance and love for animals. A lot of my characters are vegan as well, though not in a preachy ‘don’t eat animal product’ way, just in a ‘this is my personal choice’ way, if that makes sense.

 

NDP: What is the hardest part of writing?

LA: Writer’s block! Wait, no – overcoming writer’s block LoL I have a terrible time coming to terms with the fact that there’s not much I can do about it but sick back and wait for my Muse to return. And when she does, she’s always out gunsablazing!

 

NDP: What do you feel are your strong points?  What about things you’re working to improve?

LA: I’ve always been a great speller, does that count? Since I was a little kid.

A definite strong point for me is ‘special’ scenes, you know the ones where people in love participate in that act. Sex LOL Yeah, I have a lot of fun writing those and the majority of them write themselves, just flowing from my fingertips. I’ve had a lot of readers compliment me on the way I write them so well they can feel the emotions my characters feel – that always makes my day.

I’m currently working on not being quite so ‘wordy’. Something that could be written in 500 words, I have a tendency to use 1000 words for. So, that’s something I’m always working to improve.

 

NDP: How do you find inspiration?

LA: My dreams and nightmares keep me inspired. I have that many ideas written down, I’ll be writing for decades to get them all done. If I could, I’d write horror, I have some doozy ideas for horror stories!

 

NDP:  How do you keep the love of writing alive?

LA: By remembering that it’s not the most important thing in the world. If I put too much pressure on myself to write I tend to either write absolute crap, or just sit there staring at a blank screen for hours. I remind myself that I’m doing this because I love it. Not because I feel I have to.

 

NDP: Do you have any advice for other writers?

LA: Never be afraid to ask for help. Listen to helpful advice more experience writers give you. If possible, find a mentor or critique partner with experience. And don’t write something you don’t love – chances are if you don’t love it, readers won’t either.

 

NDP: Do you write an outline before every book/story you write?

LA: I tend to write a basic plot out, but the characters usually have a way of changing bits and pieces as I write. Damn characters have minds of their own!

 

NDP: Where would you like to be 5 years from now?

LA: 5 years from now? I’d like to be a hugely successful best selling author. The kind where everything I touch turns to gold 😉

In all seriousness though, I want to be successful in my own right, have a few series’ that I’m working on currently finished and in the midst of publishing and just continuing to write what I love and getting it published.

 

NDP: What books have most influenced your life most?

LA: Hmmmm… Quite a few have made me think ‘Wow. That’s the kind of writer I want to be.’ But R L Stine’s books Goodnight Kiss 1 and 2 started my true love affair with reading and writing paranormal. I just love the way you can play around with paranormal characters, even create a new species as I did and it’s always fun to read about.

 

NDP: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

LA: Rebecca Royce ( @RebeccaRoyce ), my critique partner. Without her, I would have gone a mad(-der) a long time ago. She corrects my errors, points out plot holes and is constantly telling me what works and what doesn’t, reassuring me when I have moments of doubt.

She’s the best critique partner I could ever have hoped for and such a valued friend. I kinda love that woman to pieces.

 

NDP: What book are you reading now?

LA: I’m currently reading both Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins and Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare. I’ve been waiting to read these both for a while, so I’m forcing myself to have some downtime each day and read a bit of either. I usually read 1-3 books at a time. Like my writing, it depends what mood I’m in as to what I read.

 

Contact info for Liia: http://www.liiaannwhite.com/contact/

 

I want to thank Liia for taking the time for this interview!

I hope you enjoyed this interview.  If you are an author and would like to be interviewed please contact me at ndpave@gmail.com or send me a direct message on Twitter (@nymphdupave).  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

