Erotica/Romance Writer INTERVIEW: Rebecca Royce

Bio: (edited down for space, for the longer version visit Rebecca’s Amazon page!)  Rebecca is the mother of three adorable boys and is fortunate to be married to her best friend.  She’s in love with science fiction, fantasy, and the paranormal and tries to use all of these elements in her writing. She’s been told she’s a little bloodthirsty so she hopes that when you read her work you’ll enjoy the action packed ride that always ends in romance. Rebecca loves to write series because she loves to see characters develop over time and it always makes her happy to see her favorite characters make guest appearances in other books.

 

Nymph Du Pave: What lead to your choice to write?

Rebecca Royce: I was always an avid reader.  But, truthfully, I wrote my first book in fourth grade so I think I was always going to write.  My actual choice to seek publication came when I was pregnant with my second son.  Let’s blame the hormones.

 

NDP: What are your current projects? Can you share a little of your current work with us?

RR: Right now I’m working on two things. A stand-alone new story and Love Beyond Expectations, the fifth book in my Outsider series.

 

NDP: Do you see writing as a career, either current or future?

RR: Writing is my career. Officially. As of this year, it is not my hobby, its my job.

 

NDP: Do you have a message or theme you want to get across?

RR: No, I kind of just let the characters tell their stories.

 

NDP: Where would you like to be 5 years from now?

RR: I hope I’m still writing, telling stories people want to read, and reaching an even wider audience.

 

NDP: What books have most influenced your life most?

RR: In terms of writing…  Um, Steven King has a wonderful book on writing. I recommend all potential authors read it.

 

NDP: What was the best advice you have ever heard, read or been giving regarding writing?

RR: Treat it like your job. Write every day.

 

NDP: What book are you reading now?

RR: Shannon K. Butcher has a Sentinal series and I am reading one of them now.

 

NDP: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

RR: I love finding new authors. I think everyone should check out Flesh and Feathers by April Ffeifer and Danielle Hylton-Outland. Its co-authored, their first novel, and really exceptional.

 

NDP: What question have you always wanted to be asked in an interview? How would you answer that question?

RR: Oh my gosh. I’ve been asked so many questions.  Um. I guess no one has ever asked me what my favorite movie is.  I love movies. Really love them.  And my favorite movie of all time is The Usual Suspects.

 

NDP: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

RR: Every book has a new challenge for me. Sometimes it’s starting a book. Sometimes it’s the love scenes. Sometimes it’s the fight scenes. Sometimes its the end.

 

NDP: What is the hardest part of writing for you?

RR: Getting through whatever the tough part of that book is.

 

NDP: Do you ever experience writer’s block? If so how do you get through it?

RR: I’ve got a little right now. My critique partner suggested I just write something else.  And it worked beautifully.

 

NDP: How do you find inspiration?

RR: Inspiration comes all over the place for me.  Sometimes its just standing in line at the deli.

 

NDP: How do you keep the love of writing alive?

RR: My imagination is very active. I’m very lucky that it just keeps going.

 

NDP: Have you learned anything from writing? What was it?

RR: I’ve learned to trust myself, my instincts, and my own writing.

 

NDP: What do you feel are your strong points? What about things you’re working to improve?

RR: I’m told that dialogue and world building are strong for me. I’m always working on my craft, trying to not make the same mistakes from book to book.

 

NDP: Do you have any advice for other writers?

RR: The same advice I was given—write everyday.

 

NDP: Do you write an outline before every book/story you write?

RR: No. I’m usually about one chapter ahead of where I’m actually writing but not more than that.

 

NDP: What’s a typical working day like for you? When and where do you write? Do you set a daily/weekly writing goal?

RR: I try to write 3000 words a day.  I write as much as I can in between driving my children around.

 

You can find Rebecca Royce here on Twitter @rebeccaroyce

 

I want to thank Rebecca for taking the time for this interview!

I hope you enjoyed this interview.  If you are an author and would like to be interviewed please contact me at ndpave@gmail.com or send me a direct message on Twitter (@nymphdupave).  Thanks!

One thought on “Erotica/Romance Writer INTERVIEW: Rebecca Royce

Leave a Reply

