MIA – But Not Lacking Effort

I’ve been a little MIA recently.  It’s a long story, but it ends up with me now completely self-employed again and working my butt off.  At least until Christmas Eve.  I’m a Buddhist, so Christmas is X-Mas to me, a time to spoil others, appreciate what you have in your life and try your best to let everyone know you love them.  Not too shabby!!

On the writing front I have actually published 4 other short stories since ‘Taking Maggie’…  just under another pen name.  I don’t know that I’ll ever share it with anyone, not because what I am writing would turn others off, but because I feel a bit like Stephen King with his Richard Bachman alter-ego.  When I write as this other “person” I am in a different mindset.  I feel different, I write differently, I even sit differently.  It’s wonderful and a great creative spin.

So it comes down to I have been writing (and tweeting and blogging) but on another front.  Add to that the push I created for sales in my Etsy shop (see the ‘Day Job’ tab above) and I kept myself very busy.

I am onto a new story.  I want this one to be longer, around 15k to 20k words.  It’s funny, I remember when I was younger I couldn’t write shorter works.  Everything I wrote was long and tended towards the side of ‘epic’ in it’s literal and not popularized meaning.  Now though, I love kicking out these short ‘already have feelings, but gotta make it to the sex’ pieces.  Of course, when I was a teen that was a good amount of my fanfic too, just they were longer stories.

At the moment I am in the plotting process for what I am unhappily calling “The Artist and the Biker”.  I can’t wait until I come up with a title for this one, even another working title.  I am getting tired of the ‘and the Biker’ add-ons.  I hope to start writing the actual story by at the latest Monday, but sometime this weekend would be great too.

Lastly, I am considering changing my word count goal.  750 has been the goal, because of how busy I am.  However, since my ultimate goal is to shut down the Etsy shop (or at least only sell things I just make in my off time, if I haven’t made them for me) that means that the writing will have to cover that income.  As I’ve figured that if sales balance out, I’d only need 29 more stories to get to the point where I am a fulltime writer.  And if I want them to be longer (at least some of them) 750 words a day is going to make that finish line stretch out waaaaay too far.

Also, considering the financial crunch I am in right now, I am looking at the very realistic goal of fulltime, mostly self-published writer by the end of 2014.  So… yeah.  Wow.  That with the goal (yoga) of holding myself in Scorpion Pose when I can’t even do Bakasana for longer than 2 seconds…  I’ve got some work to do.

At this time I feel 1200 a day is not too much to ask.  When I start the story, I’ll be aiming for that number on a daily basis.  My goal is to get to 3000 a day by March or April.  With each new story comes a little bit more freedom.  And if I happen to have a day job employed by another company (instead of by myself), I’ll be shutting down the Etsy shop completely for a while.

Alright, off to do more plotting, drink more coffee and work more on the Etsy shop 😀

Leave a Reply

