Stuck and Grumpy – but with a Fix in Mind!

I’m working on two different stories right now and I’m getting a bit stuck with them both.  I have three or four others floating around, but I am determined to finish these two first:

Chasing Maggie (the sequel to Taking Maggie)

The Artist and the Biker (horrible working title)

I am flummoxed with both at this moment, and that’s not a good thing.  Sometimes twists and turns can leave you feeling bewildered as well, but those are often good.  I feel like I was writing and writing and BAM!  Opened up the word document to find a big brick wall in my face!

Now, I know this is what most people call ‘Writer’s Block‘ but I don’t believe it’s something that’s gotta last like so many writers.  I believe that we’ve created the problem and we can solve it.  I’ve had this many times before and there are ways around it – scratch that, there are ways to break through writer’s block.  Not ways around it.

My favorites come from running through Holly Lisle’s How to Think Sideways over again (though she does have a course in just breaking writer’s block).  I’ve been through the HTTS course fully once.  I’ve gone back for fixes and inspiration many, many times.  I keep finding new things in old lessons, but then Holly’s continuously adding to the freaking thing so there’s new stuff in there I haven’t even encountered.  I don’t really use the huge community, I am more of an introvert then someone who likes to share.  Though I did meet Scarlet Darkwood through it!

I figure I’ll be going through it, and it’s a writing thing, so why not share my stuff here?  Obviously I can’t share her lessons but I can at least share my growth and brainstorms and see how I can break through any walls my muse has put in my path.

And at the same time get through my mental blocks on CM and TAaTB.  Because I am stuck in the same place for both of them.  I have CM plotted out (and even more in that series ready to get written) but I am stuck on PAGE 2!!!  And with TAaTB, I’m stuck with the love interest, Brody – who I am seriously thinking of renaming.

Okay, so that’s it for now.  Off to do the first lesson of the course (which is apparently a new first lesson) and to move on to work and homework (still have to keep up with college).

Leave a Reply

